previous contents

I riconoscimenti

In 1995, Tim Berners-Lee received the Kilby Foundation's "Young Innovator of the Year" Award, and an honorary Prix Ars Electronica, and was corecipient of the ACM Software Systems Award.
In 1997 he was awarded the IEEE Koji Kobayashi Computers and Communications Award, the Duddell Medal of the Institute of Physics, the Interactive Services Association's Distinguished Service Award,  the MCI Computerworld/Smithsonian Award for Leadership in Innovation, The International Communication Institute's Columbus Prize, and an OBE.
In 1998, he received the Charles Babbage award, the Mountbatten Medal of the National Electronics Council, the Lord Lloyd of Kilgerran Prize from the Foundation for Science and Technology, PC Magazine Lifetime Achievement Award in Technical Excellence, a MacArthur Fellowship and The Eduard Rhein technology award.
In 1999, Time magazine dubbed him one of the 100 greatest minds of the century and he received a World Technology Award for Communication Technology, and an Honorary Fellowship to the Society for Technical Communications.
In 2000, he received the Paul Evan Peters Award of ARL, Educause and CNI, the Electronic Freedom Foundation's pioneer award, and the George R Stibitz Computer Pioneer award at the American Computer Museum, and the Special Award for Outstanding Contribution of the World Television Forum.
In 2001 he received the Sir Frank Whittle Medal from the Royal Academy of Engineering.
In 2002 he was the recipient of the Japan Prize from the Science and Technology Foundation of Japan.He shared the Prince of Asturias Foundation Prize for Scientific and Technical Research with with Larry Roberts, Rob Kahn and Vint Cerf; became a Fellow of the Guglielmo Marconi Foundation, and received the Albert Medal of the Royal Society for the encouragement of Art, Manufactures and Commerce (RSA).
In 2004 Tim was listed in the new year's honours list for a knighthood (KBE) for services to the global development of the Internet and was awarded the first Millennium Technology Prize. He was knighted by H.M. the Queen on 16th July, 2004.

He has honorary degrees from the Parsons School of Design, New York (D.F.A., 1996) , Southampton University (D.Sc., 1996), Essex University (D.U., 1998) Southern Cross University (1998), the Open University (D.U., 2000), Columbia University (D.Law, 2001), Oxford University (2001) and The University of Port Elizabeth (DSc). He is a Distinguished Fellow of the British Computer Society, and a Honorary Fellow of the Institution of Electrical Engineers., a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a Fellow of the Royal Society (2001) and a member of the American Philosophical Society (2004).